Senegal is located on the extreme western tip of the African continent between 12.5° and 16.5° north latitude and 12° and 17° west longitude. Its western point (Pointe des Almadies in Dakar) is the most western of all continental Africa. The country is bordered on the west by 700 km of coastline on the Atlantic Ocean.
The states bordering from north to south are: Mauritania, Mali, Guinea and Guinea Bissau. Landlocked in the southern part, The Gambia has an opening to the ocean. Senegal is aligned to the Greenwich meridian time (GMT).

Senegal has many different ecosystems:

  • Mountain: in southeastern Senegal, on the border with Guinea, from the west of Niokolo-Koba National Park to the Falémé River.
  • forest : in Basse-Casamance
  • dune desert : south of Saint-Louis
  • mangrove : in Basse-Casamance and in Sine-Saloum
  • lakes : the lake of Guiers
  • bush : Central Senegal
  • salt lakes: Lake Rose (Lake Retba), Lake Mbeubeusse, …
  • rivers: Senegal, Gambia, Casamance, Saloum, Niokolo Koba, Falémé, Soungrougrou, etc.
  • savannah: Tambacounda region.
  • ocean: from Saint-Louis in the north to Kabrousse in the south.

The country is divided into 14 administrative regions grouping 45 departments since 2008:

Dakar, Diourbel, Fatick, Kaffrine, Kaolack, Kédougou, Kolda, Louga, Matam, Saint-Louis, Sédhiou, Tambacounda, Thiès and Ziguinchor.